Light

'Candles' photo (c) 2012, Horst Herzog - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/

Yesterday I took the little one on a walk around our village after dark. He quickly decided it was too cold to walk so took a ride on my back.

We enjoyed seeing lots of lights people have out up for Christmas. Snowman standing on the garage, icicles dripping off garages and stars hanging in the trees.

I feel like I have such a light inside me, such a joy about God, and what he has planned for the World, but I tend it hide it away. I want to be putting it outside my house, letting the neighbours see with a glance who I worship.

I worry about what people will think, I like to be liked, I like to fit in.

This isn’t being fair. I’m not sharing what I have been so delighted to learn. So, while I’m growing my light, my love of God inside me, I want to be letting some light shine out through the walls I have built up around it.

I worry I will do it wrong, I will turn people away because of me, but that is doing God a disservice, he is greater and more awesome than I can understand. I plan to start in small ways and big ways and medium ways. I’m not quite sure how yet- I’m praying, and reading and listening.

Luke 11:33  “No one, when he has lit a lamp, puts it in a secret place or under a basket, but on a lampstand, that those who come in may see the light.

