January faves

Yes, it’s February, yes I’m behind the times- this is what I’ve enjoyed reading over the last month.

Blog posts about mothering

Sarah Bessey is such an powerful storyteller and what she writes about comes so close to the things that matter in my heart.

She said something so wise while she rocked, I wanted to write it down: “Paul told us to let our gentleness be evident to all*, and I want my gentleness to be evident to our baby girl, too, even when no one is around to overhear or notice but her.”

http://sarahbessey.com/in-which-gentleness-evident-to-all/

A deeper story is a little window into other people’s lives, how their experiences have changed them in families and in churches. One of the little panicky thoughts that comes into my head as I try to sleep is – should I have waited longer before having babies? – and I love how Allison feels  about it.

“Yea, this’ll be her third kid. She got married young and they’ve just had one after another. I think that’s unhealthy. I’m glad I have my twenties to myself…”

http://deeperstory.com/having-my-twenties-to-myself/

Sarah Markley is new to me- and very good for me competitive, must have done everything better than everyone else, and last week as well.

But here is what is true: you have measured up all along. You have been desirable all along. You have been beautiful and smart all along.

http://www.sarahmarkley.com/2013/01/for-when-you-think-you-have-to-prove-yourself-to-other-women

A Book about  woman

Rachel Held Evans: A Year of Biblical Womanhood

I am way too excited, I’m going to a year book club tomorrow night about this amazing (and challenging) book! I finished it in a couple of days, and then I’ve been slowly re-reading it and figuring things out and going back to the original stories of woman in the Bible again. I absolutely loved re-claiming the Proverbs 31 woman- part of it is in her blog archives:

It seems to me that the real woman behind Proverbs 31 is not the “excellent wife” described in the poem, but the mother of the king responsible for it And she had a lot more to say than we’ve been giving her credit for—not just about choosing a good wife, but about public policy and personal ethics…and beer.

http://rachelheldevans.com/blog/proverbs-31-lost-verses

A Book about statistics

Super Freakonomins by Steven D. Levitt & Stephen J. Dubner. It’s made me sceptical of the laws on car seats, question why people do nice things to each other and follow their blog:

http://www.freakonomics.com/2013/01/31/would-you-let-a-coin-toss-decide-your-future-a-new-freakonomics-radio-podcast-3/

Bible Verse

January has been all rushing rushing rushing. New jobs needing new cars, plans needing seeing through, me needing more sleep than I got. But it all needed to be done- no real rest but I try to find peace in the Lord and try not to worry about the broken oven, mouldy carpet or job half done.

Psalm 37:7  Rest in the LORD, and wait patiently for Him.

That’s it for January!

Oh, and I’m linking up with Leigh for her monthly “What I’m into” which reminds me, you should check out her reading habit!

What I'm Into at HopefulLeigh
