On being 51 days into 2013

Fastcar

My year of possibilities feels like I am heading out of control going downhill as the breaks of the car fail.

I’ve adopted my favourite ostrich-esq position of closing my eyes, assuming the crash position and just hoping that magically everything will get better.

I’ve been hugely inspired by friends, bloggers and people I know (IRL!) doing amazing things for people in extreme poverty, volunteering with disadvantaged kids, spending time with the older ones in our church, making meals for those who can’t, sharing the gospel message.

‘For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me…. whatever you did for one of the least of these … you did for me.’
Matthew, chapter 25

 

 

 

 

It seems like there’s so much to be done, I want to help with all of it, but I really quickly seem to be overwhelmed and grumpy which as well as being the wrong attitude, makes my son grumpy as well.

I look at people who are doing amazing things;

And they all inspire me, to start again, to think big and to not worry about the what ifs.

Yet, I have to realise that I just can’t keep up with it all.

Gal 6:9 And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.

How do I choose what to do?

While I do like self-help books I would like to be the sort of of person who turns to the word of God first, rather than 10 books down the line. Having not mastered the art of the concordance (sorry Sunday School teachers), I turn to e-sword.

“Prioritise” didn’t come back with any hits.

First came back with far too many, but gave some good starting points.

To go back to some basic principles;

1) He has shown you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you, but to do justly, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God? Micah 6v8

2) But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. Matthew 6v33

3)  Master, which is the great commandment in the law?

Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.
This is the first and great commandment.
And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. Matthew 22

Then I start to remember verses about Grace.

Who hath saved us, and called us with an holy calling, not according to our works, but according to his own purpose and grace, which was given us in Christ Jesus before the world began. 2 Timothy 1:9

For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God. Ephesians 2:8

And other posts like this from Jon Acuff.

And I am reminded, that it’s not all about me, about how much I can do, or give.

So, I will direct my out of control car of 2013 and give myself a little more grace, give myself the possibility of grace.

P.S. This is what I mean!!!  Will saying yes to this require me to live in a frantic way? And you should definitely check out some of her other posts.

photo credit: Viernest via photopin cc

