On doing things

'The Big Idea (1934)' photo (c) 2013, Fr. Dougal McGuire - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/

I get far too carried away with BIG IDEAS.

There’s a fair bit of encouragement for this in the Bible.

2Thess 3:13  But as for you, brethren, do not grow weary in doing good.

Heb 13:16  But do not forget to do good and to share, for with such sacrifices God is well pleased.

For me, all this doing is tiring. I get grumpy and resentful.

I wonder if the following verse applies to my life, and my worries about what I should be doing.

Philipians 4:11  Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content.

In that I can only do a certain amount. The state I am includes looking after a small child, housey things and some work at the hospital. Am I meant to be content with the amount I can do? I know that I’m not saved by the things I do but my faith. However, my faith looks to be very small if it only produces very little.

Perhaps I need to adjust my ideas of doing things. Perhaps the daily bible stories with the little one is as much as I can do that day. Perhaps I’m not going to be organising big exciting preaching events but managing to meet up with my friends and spend an evening catching up.

Or is that just all just a cop out?

It has to come down to your attitude. I want to say it’s how your heart feels, but that’s too touchy feely for me! So it’s my attitude towards things.

Back to esword [Cheats concordance].

2Cor 9:7  So let each one give as he purposes in his heart, not grudgingly or of necessity; for God loves a cheerful giver.

And then good old ecclesiastics.

Ecc 9:9  Live joyfully with the wife whom you love all the days of your vain life which He has given you under the sun, all your days of vanity; for that is your portion in life, and in the labor which you perform under the sun.

But what makes me think most is the young boy with his 2 small loaves of bread and 5 fishes. Jesus was able to use that small offering to feed 5000 people.

The outworkings of my faith may seem small and mean; The cake shop bought and not quite defrosted, the very occasional time we get organised to be able to help out on a Sunday, but in the hands of Jesus it is enough.

