On failing and grace

It was all going so well. 

9 days after giving birth to a beautiful little boy I was feeling good, getting back on my feet and feeling like I could take on the world. 

Then my insides gave up. 

And I was forced to sit down (lie down!) and let my husband look after me, the toddler, the house, the food. I did not want to sit down, I wanted to be out and about with my boys enjoying my husbands paternity leave. Still, it had some unexpected benefits. My husband is very good at taking care of people and when I was ‘well’ had less chance to do this. He rose to the challenge! He was great. On practical things and on the supplying of tissues, chocolate and hugs at the right moment. Had I not had to stop, I would not have appreciated this side to him. 

Requiring help, being vulnerable, it’s not what I would ever choose. I’d like to give off a ‘super-mum’ vibe. I’d like to be the one that makes it look easy, and helps other people. Who can blog into the small hours, host dinner for six at a moments notice and attend every event at Church.

Pah.

2 Corinthians 12v19

‘but he (God) has told me, “My grace is all you need, because my power is perfected in weakness.”

Sometimes that’s allowing other people to help. Sometimes that’s recognising that being weak, needing help, is not failing, but allowing God’s power to work in our lives.

