On a word: conform

Conformity, conforming, conformed. To fashion oneself, according to Strongs.

I like to conform. In the past I thought I didn’t but looking back I just choose a different group to conform to.

I feel comfortable when I fit in somewhere. I relax – I’m happier.

Recently I’ve been having a little think about what I conform to.

2 Peter 1 v14-15

As obedient children, do not be conformed to the passions of your former ignorance, but as he who called you is holy, be holy yourselves in all your conduct; 

I know I want to be holy. I just get a little confused as to what that means in my life. I look at Jesus and his life seems a long way from mine. Centuries of change shouldn’t change the basic principles of following God but it does make our day to day lives look quite different. To look at my life from the outside it probably doesn’t look very different to the lady across the road. I wear clothes from the same shops, go to the same toddler groups, talk about the same films. But I look forward to different things. I may be planning next years holidays but I”m quietly hoping that Jesus might return before then. I’m looking forward to a world eventually at peace.

I want this to change my conduct. I want to be holy. But part of me just wants to be like the lady across the road! Learning to stand out, to have confidence in my faith, and to have confidence in God to lead and guide me is good, but scary.

